9/11 Pt 2

Nic woke up strapped to a table in the workshop. Groaning, he looked around. Everyone was there staring at him. Everyone, except Mr. Wyght, had bandages and/or braces.

“Did I do that?” Nic asked, horrified.

Before saying anything, Myles shined a flashlight in his eyes and then unstrapped him. “His pupils dilated. Nic’s back.”

“What happened out there?” Mr. Wyght said crossly. “Everyone was injured trying to stop you. You have been capable of controlling this side effect up until now. What made today any different?”

Taking a deep breath, he explained. “Today is the anniversary of my parent’s death, as well as many others. I know most of us watched our parents die, so you understand what I’m feeling. I try to handle it, but I fail. I can never forget my dad leaving me outside as he rushed inside the skyscraper to save my mom. I watched as people committed suicide trying to escape the heat. His co-firefighters told me to look away and get to safety, but I refused. I continued to watch the horror as both of the buildings came crashing down; with my parents and thousands of others inside.

“As you know, ever since then I vowed to become stronger so I could save people like my father. However, I did it the cowardly way. I failed once and then resorted to drugs. Now I am like a time bomb. It consumes me if I let it. I am sorry, I couldn’t control it today. I understand if you need me to move out as soon as possible.”

Putting his hand on Nic’s shoulder, Mr. Wyght replied softly, “None of this is your fault. I knew it was the anniversary of your parents and I, well, I didn’t do or say anything. I thought maybe you could take your mind off it with the practice, but I made it worse. I am sorry.”

No one else knew what to say.

“Man, we are sorry too,” Shane said finally. “I can’t believe we forgot.  Just remember we can help you through it if you let us.”

“Yes,” Blake agreed. “What else are friends for?”

“Friends?” Sonny said sarcastically.

Shannon elbowed him, which hurt them both.

Interrupting the conversation, Mr. Wyght suggested they go get some dinner. It was getting late. Nic had been out for hours and no one had eaten anything since breakfast.

As they went out of the workshop, Johanna spoke to Nic. “Hey, are you gonna be okay?”

“Yeah I think so. I am so sorry for what I did to you,” he apologized.

She smiled. “To be honest, you didn’t hurt Aymie or I. We got away just in time. But just remember, that we know that that was not you. We know who you really are.”

“Thank you, it means a lot,” he replied. Immediately after, he said, “Just make sure Shannon knows that too…I feel like I broke her ribs.”

She chuckled. “Only bruised, but she understands. You know that.” Standing on her tip toes, she kissed Nic on the cheek and ran to catch up with the other girls.

Nic stood there in awe; his face almost as red as his highlights. Getting a kiss from his crush was one of the greatest things to happen to him since finding WHYP.

“Nice, man!” a familiar voice called from behind him.

“Shut up, Shane,” he replied.

Laughing, he said, “You threw me off a tower. I think I have the liberty to say what I want. Now, let’s got eat.”

Shane patted Nic’s back and the two walked back to the house together.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑